Event Details

LEVEL 5

Time: August 24, 2014 to August 28, 2014
Location: Downtown Independent
Street: 251 S Main Street
City/Town: Los Angeles
Website or Map: http://downtownindependent.com
Phone: 213 617 1033
Event Type: movie, screening
Organized By: Downtown Independent
Latest Activity: Aug 21, 2014

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

While developing a video game about World War II’s Battle of Okinawa in which 150,000 Japanese were killed, many by suicide, Laura (Catherine Belkhodja) becomes increasingly drawn into her work. Chris Marker’s elaborate, colorful LEVEL FIVE is a patchwork of mesmerizing and pixelated images, archives, history, interviews (including with the Japanese director Nagisa Oshima), and quasi-science fiction, LEVEL FIVE prefigures the director’s fascination with digital worlds, which he also explored in installations, interactive CD-ROMs, and later, digital platforms.

SHOWTIMES:

Friday, August 15: 6:00PM, 9:50PM

Saturday, August 16: 1:30PM

Sunday, August 17: 5:00PM

Monday, August 18: 9:00PM

Tuesday, August 19: 5:30PM

Wednesday, August 20: 5:30PM

Thursday, August 21: 5:30PM

Sunday, August 24: 8:00PM

Monday, August 25: 4:45PM

Tuesday, August 26: 4:45PM

Wednesday, August 27: 7:45PM

Thursday, August 28: 9:15PM

BUY TICKETS HERE

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for LEVEL 5 to add comments!

Join downtown independent

Attending (1)

Downtown Independent on Facebook

Downtown Independent on taplister

 

© 2017   Created by Downtown Independent.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service